Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Basic Walkie

This morning my alarm went off at 415!! Why, you may ask?? For the skiing of course!

Today was the penultimate day of the Olympics and the longest of the cross-country races - the men’s 50k which lasted over 2 hours. With over 80 participants in the mass start (see extra), a long race like this is about tactics as much as speed and Finland’s Iivo Niskanen displayed the best of both to take the gold - the first time for Finland to win an individual gold since the 1998 games in Nagano. It was super-exciting! Don’t let anyone tell you that cross-country skiing is boring to watch!

After my early start, as well as a session at the gym (third time in a week!!) I was tired this afternoon, and considered not bothering with a walk. But I could see that the sky was turning a beautiful colour so I decided to just do a quick walk around the nearby park - where Dolly and I used to go for our quick and close to home ‘basic walkies’. It was very cold but the fresh air felt good and of course I do like a good sunset (in case you hadn’t noticed!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.