A nifty Christmas present

After a morning in Sheringham where we went in all the charity shops, while Henry had all his lovely curls cut off, we drove to Cromer. Overnight there had been another dusting of snow; about 2cm at most, but then the thaw began. At last. The road to Cromer was very clear, so hopefully that means it will be the same when I drive to Norwich Monday. In Cromer we parked in a free 30 minute slot, and I went to the new Sue Ryder shop which has lots of really good stuff in it. I was looking for a particular book. I went over the road to the rspca charity shop and was really pleased as I was leaving, to spot a hard back version (Dan Brown - The Lost Symbol) so was very happy. I don't know yet if it is the kind of book I will be able to read, but I really liked the Da Vinci Code and other films, and this one is the same characters)

I met up with the boys and we went home to spend the rest of the day at home.

Jon has made a nice fire for the 4th day running. Today he used this nifty blowing implement for the first time, (pocket bellows) which Jim bought him for Christmas. Used to add oxygen to tge base of the fire. Beats flapping with an enamel plate. Only sad that Jim is no longer with us, to share the event. Apparently from his hospital bed he made it clear to the present buyers what he wanted to get Jon. They had a lot of similarities. He is still sorely missed, and we are looking forward to seeing the rest of the family tomorrow in Cambridge. We are praying the road is clear.

I do feel like this week has been a bit of a waste of time. I know I have loads of hobbies that I don't have time to do, but I still have to be in the right mood for them. I was unprepared for this. I have some knitting on the go, but I do a tiny bit each day, as it seems to make my neck stiff. The card making really needs the right mood, (or an urgent card) and I fancied making some jewellery but I don't really know what I'm making it for. I don't feel able to sort out craft sales any more like when I was younger. I will leave it until the summer when it is light and warm in the conservatory, then have a re-think. If there is anything anyone wants in particular, I'm happy to make it for postage and cost of beads, just say and I'll have a go.

I've just remembered that this morning in a charity shop in Sheringham, I bought for £2.50 ( this is unheard of for me) the Peter Rabbit 50p released last year. I'll add a photo. If anyone has Jeremy Fisher, Benjamin bunny or Tom kitten I neeeeeeeeeed them. Where are they? They have been in general circulation for over a year and now new Beatrix Potter coins are being issued, and I don't even have the old ones. Non collectors must be holding on to them. If you have a pot where you save 50ps there are lots I'd like! Please check before you cash them in!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.