Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Donuts for birthday cake

I did not eat these donuts with the tiny dots even though I think this one might have been lemon which is a favorite OR the other one in pink with all the tiny sprinkles on it!  I had the raspberry filled but refrained from having that second sugar bomb!

I shared this gift.   Sugar overload at the bowling lanes this morning as we celebrated the birthday girl..me!  

I don't know if they have donuts in other countries.  A pastry dough that is deep fried until it is light and fluffy then iced with a sugar glaze or stuffed with various cremes.   The donuts are rolled flat, then cut to resemble a wreath..a round thing with a hole in the middle. Drop in the hot oil, fry until golden brown.   The ones that are filled are not cut with the hole in the middle but still fried!  And iced!  The filling can be anything..raspberry jam, lemon creme, apples cooked to mush, chocolate, bavarian creme..all sorts of fillings.  And chocolate.    Donuts holes are good too..the part cut out of the middle..dipped in cinnamon sugar and fried!    There are all kinds!  

I sure wish I had tasted that lemon creme!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.