Rattymus

I blipped a similar one but with a straight tail on 5th Dec, and decided s/he was a mouse. Now I’m less sure. Tbf that one was smaller and cuter than today’s. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2384876602786843997

Online I’ve found the following:

Rats are often the size of pigeons and mice are the size of sparrows. Well this one is a little smaller than a blackbird so that doesn’t help.

Rats have ears shaped somewhat like a human’s whereas a mouse has large round ears that are about a quarter or more of the size of the head. Well this one has round ears but they’re small, so that’s no help.

Rats have a scaly tail without hair, whilst mice have hair on their tails. Ah ha! It’s a mouse then.

And rats have a greasy appearance, which this one doesn’t, so it’s definitely a mouse.

But.. gut feel... it just looks like a rat because its snout is blunter than the long face of a mouse and because it’s tail is fat and kinked.

So, last time I said mouse and this time I’m saying rattymus! (But really I think it’s a small rat).

So today rattymus entertained me between admin tasks and errands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.