Aloes and Blue Sky

Strange things are beginning to happen around here. OilMan has decamped to the guest bedroom for the duration of the flu. Ozzie elected to stay with me, but he needs our cheering section of two to get him up on the bed. In the middle of the night, I was jolted awake by a loud thud...Ozzie falling off the bed. Why, I hear you asking, must you coax him into the bed? Why can’t he sleep in his dog bed only two feet away? I won’t go into the details of his fall from being a well adjusted dog who slept in his crate, to a spoiled brat who stands and moans at the bedside until he is allowed up...something that now involves the use of a non-stick yoga mat to give him traction on the floors I polished a couple of weeks ago....

Ozzie is confused and doesn’t know what to do when I don’t show up in the morning to give him the foam from my cappuccino. He’s pretty smart though. He showed up at the bedroom door, and waited for me to let him in. There are four sets of French doors that go from the house to various parts of the yard and he usually sits outside the one that is three feet from his dog door and barks to be let in. Apparently we have complied with this request often enough that he sees no reason to use the dog door. He must have realized that right now he could bark all day by the back door and I wouldn’t totter in to open it for him....

Speaking of doors...while I had the bedroom doors open for some fresh air, a gust of wind came up and the draft created by the open door caused the heavy front door to blow open and slam against the wall. Their tendency not to latch properly was one of the reasons we replaced the old doors with the heavy metal ones.

Is it the return of the poltergeists or just the fact that the three of us have become so interdependent that everything falls apart when one of us is sick?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.