A mini look....

Tom and I got up early this morning and went downtown to walk around. We used to do this a lot on Sunday mornings because there's barely any traffic or any people, it's fun to meander along to look at the buildings, and we can find parking anywhere!  I opted for a collage today so you could have a mini look around Milwaukee.
Top left is the new Milwaukee Bucks Arena which is under construction, (to the tune of $524 million dollars), and when done it will not only house the Bucks (NBA team) & the Marquette Golden Eagles (college team), but it will be an entertainment center as well, surrounded by a beautiful plaza. 
Top right is one of the many historical buildings in the downtown area that I love--lots of great architecture on so many of these.
Bottom left are some of the "Bublr" bikes that are for rent around the city. I only included them because of the name, which is a take on "bubbler". In one of those idiosyncrasies that you find in some areas,  Milwaukee is the only place in the world where a drinking fountain is called a "bubbler". Why? Because in 1889 a man named Harlan Huckleby designed the areas' first one. The design was unusual in that it had a spout that shot water up into the air, to make it easier to drink from. The device was picked up and patented by a company called Kohler Water Works (now better known as the giant Kohler Company, located in Kohler, Wi.), and they named their new product "the Bubbler", & the name stuck. Last year when two of my blip friends and I were in Tombstone, Arizona, we were going to tour an old building & the woman at the desk asked where we were from. When I said "Milwaukee" she was so excited, as she said she could tell me that to start the tour, head down to the "bubbler" & turn right. She was also from the Milwaukee area, and said no one else knows what she's talking about when she says that! :))
And bottom right is an art piece created by American artist Mark di Suvero called "The Calling". When it was placed there 30-some years ago, the sculpture was set against a grassy patch, the blue sky and Lake Michigan (which is behind me from where I stood to take this). It was meant to "call" for the rising of the sun. However, since 2001 the site has been changed by the addition of O'Donnell Park Plaza and the Milwaukee Art Museum, so there are many people that want "the I beams" removed, as they feel it's too "industrial" & no longer fits in. As for me, I think those people have forgotten how long our winter season is, so I say: go ahead and call the sun! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.