Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I've been busy writing on assignments for the course in start writing fiction and haven't been out more than to the postbox. The sun's been shining and I thought to go out, but then got caught. The frist assignment was to write a story (beginning of one), maximum 350 words, then post it to the others in the group. After that I gave critique on three other stories. It was really educating and I went in to this with no expectations at all with the text I submitted. I think that's the best way...well, for me, anyway. If I would've submitted something I really care fore, that would be a difference I think. :D 
 We've been told to carry a notebook and take notes when we find something interesting. It can be a person, a piece of a conversation or something heard on radio etc. Since I haven't been out much, I found inspiration for my story at the supermarket, where I saw a young woman standing beside a pram. She didn't look happy at all... I made her younger in my story and didn't make her the main character. 
The critique was difficult to do in the first review I made. I didn't understand who the writer thought, it was all over the place and the description wasn't there at all. I did my best to write nice things...but it was very difficult! 

I have a lot of notebooks to choose between, but I think I'll do something with the one on top, the one that is beige, instead of the little black one. The one with leaves are already taken for my real story. :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.