Ever watchful

Although I generally don't work on Fridays, I spent the major part of this morning at the inpatient unit to support the registrar in a difficult treatment planning meeting. All went well, and then S and I packed a few things and headed north to the beachhouse. Some things that I need to be here to do. It will be a short weekend here, as on Sunday the Central Auckland Poets are doing their garden reading; hopefully the test cricket induced rain will have cleared by then.

We arrived just after high tide, and after a late lunch and rest I went bird watching with the camera. I was able to get closer than I expected to this Karuhiruhi (Pied Shag). A few more steps and it left in a hurry. And appeared to crash into the sea just off these rocks before becoming airborne again and then landing on nearby rocks. It was still there a half hour later, and then did leave properly as I went closer in an attempt to check it out. That it flew away again suggests it is okay.

I have added an extra, which is a Tuturiwhatu (New Zealand Dotterel), which was there with its mate, both blending well with the water, sand and seaweed on the flats

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.