Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Hey, Harv, come check out this summer rental!

I went out in the yard for a bit of fresh air while Virginia was napping this afternoon, taking the new small camera hoping to get some test shots. Imagine my total surprise when, amidst all the finches and chickadees and titmice, in came FIVE eastern bluebirds! They went right over to the bluebird box and gave it a thorough checking over. I was so stunned initially that I couldn't get the damned camera focused or zoomed or anything. Finally, I got off a few quick shots. Not bad, but would have been MUCH better with Big Daddy!

Eastern bluebirds don't eat seeds or suet so I rarely see them unless they come in for water or just to investigate. Always a huge treat to see one, let alone five.

I did get off a few macro shots, too, which I am happy with. I posted 4 other bluebird shots and two macro bugs on Flickr, starting here. All are SOOC, with only a bit of cropping.

Having a quiet day with my MIL today. She has been snoozing in our comfy chair int he living room and in between naps, we've been chatting. I am going to work on a Memory Book for her - thank you SimpleMoments for the wonderful idea. It will be a gift of love. And thank all of you, again, for your words of support and your comments. And thank you for sending my squirrel to the spotlight yesterday - he's now demanding more peanuts in exchange for his stardom... Cheeky little thing.

Happy Thursday. I'll check in later when everyone is tucked in for the evening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.