Spotlight Upgrade!

With Hurricane Sandy threatening to come on shore not far south of us as early as Monday next week, I felt a need to reinforce our emergency lighting equipment.

So this afternoon I went out to our local hardware store to get a new battery for an old flashlight (or spotlight)--they are on the right in the blip. They are quite old (exactly how old I don't remember), but the store had a new version of the same Eveready battery. I tried it in the store, but I couldn't make it work; it could have been the bulb but they didn't have a proper replacement for that.

In the end I bought the new spotlight on the left, which uses the four AA batteries you see. It wasn't entirely simple to make it work either, but I finally did. Now we have to decide whether to fly to Baltimore tomorrow to visit my oldest son's family or cancel the trip (our return flight is planned for Tuesday, which could be in the worst of the storm). Stay tuned!

Update: We've cancelled the Baltimore trip, but see my reply just below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.