An ephemeral rock ?

As a politician, and especially as a Minister, you get asked to open events, buildings and even roads. But today was a first for me, in opening an asphalt plant.

The plant is at the famous Furnace Quarry now owned by Breedon’ but which has been in existence for 200 years.

The plant replaces a 50 year old model standing nearby and is needed given the high demand for asphalt for both repairing existing roads and constructing new ones. The repair job has been particularly important this winter given the severe weather damage all over Argyll.

I have opened lots of things in the last ten years or so but I am sanguine about how much the plaques and the tablets mean even really nice ones like this newly placed rock at the Quarry entrance. Not only am I always aware of the list of names, usually all forgotten, on such things from previous generations (I always note them with a wry smile) but my own experience tells me how ephemeral they can be.

For example I opened the HQ of the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park when I was Environment Minister , a decade ago. The massive granite plaque I unveiled was so heavy it was standing on an easel as it would, I was told, require special fixings for the wall to which it would be eventually attached.

Last year I happened to be back in the building, as a local MSP with an involvement with the Park. I mischievously asked the current Park CEO where the plaque had finally been erected. He was a little embarrassed to have to tell me that not only was it not on any wall but he wasn’t even sure where it was right now - probably in a cupboard somewhere he thought.

Sic transit...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.