Jado

By Jado

Shutlingsloe

The weather forecast was for sunshine, so I was up before the crack of dawn, and parked in Langley (a few miles south east of Macclesfield) in time to change into my hiking boots and set off by 07:00am.

Today's walk is certainly the toughest I've done since my knee recovered enough for me to start hiking again - not so much the distance, but the walk has lots of climbs.  The blip is Shutlingsloe (the 3rd highest point in Cheshire), which is where I was heading.  It was very wet and muddy,  but fabulous to be out in the fresh air - and fresh it was up there!

The extra was taken from the top of Shutlingsloe.  You can see most of the route I'd taken up till that point - the hill on the left about half way down the shot is Tegg's Nose, and the high ground in the middle of the frame is Macclesfield Forest.  My walk started at the bottom of Tegg's Nose, over it, then up to the highest bit of Macclesfield Forest and then across the peat bog you can see below Shutlingsloe.  The walk then drops down the other side of Shutlingsloe to Wildboarclough and then via Oakenclough back to Langley.  Just under 12 miles but my fitness monitor has credited my with having climbed 246 flights of stairs!

I think I've just satisfied myself that my knee is officially fixed :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.