Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

A surprise in the yard

Last spring I cleaned up the weeds and grass from a place in the yard, filled it with potting soil, made a ring around it with rocks I found in the yard (we GROW rocks here!) and then I spread one of those wildflower packages with many different kind of flowers in it that would cover the area--about 4ft by 4ft..more than enough seeds.    The flowers came up but they did not do really well.  Probably too hot and not enough water.     But I let it grow wild figuring some of the seeds would fall and maybe reseed since the flowers were supposed to come back every year.   When I cleaned up the hay bale garden last winter, I threw the hay on this place mostly to keep the weeds and grass from growing back.   I noticed a few weeks ago a fluffy little thing coming up and moved some of the hay off the area..there were more green shoots coming back under the hay but I did not know if they were flowers or weeds.   One plant seemed to be going really well and I knew it had to be something from the flowers.   

And it was..it was blooming this morning.  I don't know what it is..maybe a buttercup.. and there are about six more buds on the plant.   I will be putting some fertilizer  on the area and hoping the other green things I see will be flowers too.    I have started some other flowers in pots in the house that I was going to put out in this bed..so I might have a full flower bed!

I really like it when things grow in spite of me!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.