The Light of The Day.....

A peaceful, quiet and reflective day, one worthy of reflecting on the life of a First Lady that was celebrated and laid to rest, Barbara Bush.   She was a figure that has championed a cause, very dear to my heart.  For 35 years, I taught in Special Education, striving to give every child the ability to read.  During my many years, I can say that every child I had in my classroom, did indeed, learn to read, no matter whether they were mentally challenged, or a gifted immigrant, or a Dyslexic or Learning Language Disabled, or Emotionally Challenged due to brain damage, a violent home life, neglect, abandonment, poverty..... or any other challenge that walked through my door.
     Barbara Bush saw literacy as a required key to everyone's future.  She got books into schools, at a time when I was personally buying the texts that I was teaching from.  She helped the poor, the sick, the rich, the gifted, the old, the young, she didn't care.  She helped the teachers, so that we could help the children.
    May she rest in peace, her foundation will still be here helping those she cared about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.