Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Opuntia macrocentra

This is the first time I've ever blipped a Black-Spine prickly pear's flowers. It is in my next door neighbor's backyard. This is an interesting cactus for two reasons:  I think it may be the only prickly pear with a bright and distinctive bi-colored flower and it has the longest spines of any cactus found in Arizona...and that's saying something!  I put an extra of the entire cactus.  You can see how many flowers have already bloomed and died.  cactus flowers only live one day.

I'm a day behind so I am actually posting this on Thursday, 26 March.  I've been experiencing some symptoms since October.  My primary care doctor retired so I've kind of fallen through the cracks, being seen only by the clinic's nurse.  In any event, I have finally gotten someone to pay attention to me so today I'll be going in for a diagnostic mammogram and breast ultrasound. I'm sure I won't know anything today but hopefully I'll hear something before the weekend.  Cross your fingers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.