si_b

By si_b

Testing, testing ...

I took a load of photos today, all of really dumb things - drinks bottles, window frames, my untidy living room and me - all in the name of testing out a mirrorless camera (Fujifilm X-T1) but not shooting with any "normal" lenses. I've got two adapters - one for the M42 mount lenses that I've been collecting and one for my stock of Nikon compatible F mount lenses. The latter is even more interesting as it is a "speed booster" ! Any Nikon FX lens gains a one stop increase ( meaning my 50mm f/1.4 is now a ridonculous f/1 ). 

The down side ? All manual focus - but ... With focus peaking on the X-T1 this isn't all that much of an issue. It just has taken a lot of getting used to in comparison to the "normal" of my Nikon, all of which involved pointing it at random things. When I got to the end of the day, I found - as I said above, a lot of rubbish :-P

The shot of the day is actually my wide angle Nikon mount lens ( 10mm-24mm I think ... ) on the "speed booster" mount - it actually turned it into a circular fisheye at the low end, which I used for this terrible selfie :-P Strictly qualifying for the definition of  a "Wide Angle Wednesday" shot it seemed like the best of a "bad" bunch. ( With the "sun" behind me ... themed as well :-P )

The X-T1 ? Jury is still out, it's small, it's light and it is scarily silent with the electronic shutter - I'm intrigued at this point rather than convinced. I can see it being used for street photography more than anything else with the above features and the tilting LCD ... 

Time will tell ! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.