Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

(We love being) Back Home

Finally, after 26 hours of travelling we pulled up at home on Sunday.  Only one slight problem, we couldn't get in the house!  Our fault entirely, we'd forgotten to tell our neighbours that we weren't using the one lock on the house door.  We'd left with just the bare essentials in respect of keys and the mortice key was not on the fob!

I (just about) managed to clamber over the fence so at least we could sit in the garden on a gloriously sunny day.  it's amazing how quickly things can grow and when you haven't seen the garden for 12 days it certainly stood out to us on our return.  While we waited for someone to bring over the key, we made use of the garden to sort out clothes into loads of washing (or should I say, someone else did!).

After a good night's sleep it was off for a quick supermarket shop, then cut the lawns and get back to the routine of home life.  We've thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, one of our best ever, but always love coming back home.  

I've finally caught up with my blips.  All my plans of using the new cloud functionality in Adobe Lightroom came to nought as the internet bandwidth at the lodge was unable to cope with the uploads.  I seem to remember someone having mentioned that as a possibility when I cogitated over the options last month on my journal.  I also worry for the future of foreign photography trips if the airline companies stick rigidly to the new TSA rules on weight limits for cabin baggage.  Either that or we're going to have to consider the option of placing equipment in the hold (which I had to do anyway, as the rules state that drones cannot be carried in cabin baggage).

The shot is of our forget-me-nots, which have been transplanted next to this small plaque in the garden, It seemed apt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.