Rodents rule

By squirk

Tastes a bit flowery

This chap was spotted in the cemetery helping itself to cut flowers – cheeky. For a work break I picked up a parcel from the post office and went to visit my great great grandparents who reside in the local cemetery (I discovered this only in November – it seems I have a West Norwood connection after all!) There's no gravestone as Lambeth destroyed it along with swathes of others in the 1970s. Rumour has it that the stones were broken up and used as part of the M25. Today, there's just a grassy space where the headstone should be and a bench opposite where I sat awhile. It's strange to see headstones of graves that my ancestors would have seen as they visited Cornelius (the fabulous name of great great grandfather) and Sarah. The monument to J W Gilbart, general manager of the London & Westminster bank (forerunner of Natwest) would have had its prominent spot. I like that one because it features a squirrel on one side – a squirrel stores nuts equals people saving money.

As I walked around the cemetery, the smell of roses was just delicious. I stopped to smell many a bloom. I also spotted a goldcrest peeping about a tree, but it was too quick for my camera trigger. The woodpecker was around, too, but only the squirrel was captured.

I've had lots of attention from Juno today and several visits from Dora. Fred's been kayaking near Ullapool and has had a glorious day. He almost could have kayaked in West Norwood – there seem to be three burst water mains (either that or the underground River Effra has swollen and burst the pipes). I seem to still have water, though I've filled the kettle, just in case. Folk in the roads around me have either lost their supply or it's just a trickle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.