A summer hen holiday

We've done loads today, including moving Babs, Minnie and Dots down to the allotment for a bit of a summer holiday. Here you see them enjoying their first taste of buttercups, thistle and dock. I trust them to properly dig this bit over this week, and then I'll move them over a bit. This is the next patch to be dug so they will help.

I ironed to The Archers this morning after taking Mollie to Cromer for work. After coffee we put the washing machine in the trailer and took it down the dump. Then we went to Homebase to start buying wood and bits to start work on the conversion of the garage. We then had a look at washing machines in Hughes. After looking at the cheapest, mid priced, comparing water and electricity economy we chatted to the man. We are also considering renting one as that will be only £20 a month or less if we rent an old one. So we have options but couldn't commit at the moment. As usual for us there is never a good time, but I have a campsite to pay for and am NOT giving up my holiday. There will be a bit of hand washing going on for a couple of weeks in this house....luckily we have the stream and the 1940s scrubbing board!! lol

Jon dropped me, the chickens and the trailer with the coop at the allotment at 5.20 and went off to collect Moll. It has been very hot this afternoon so I couldn't go sooner, but the coast was very misty again. I unloaded everything and set them up, then did some weeding. We don't seem to have got the rain here that Norwich had yesterday. I will try to get down there to weed again tomorrow, but will be going every night to feed my girls anyway.

I submitted what I hope is the final draft of my book. I should get an email tomorrow afternoon to say a proof is ready. Then perhaps it will be ready to go? A further read of the latest proof will be a quick one. I can't face reading it again. I'm sure I've changed all the bits I could possibly have identified and want to give it the ok. So fingers crossed.

Just had a wander back up through the village via the allotment with the dog. It is such a quiet peaceful place, I don't think we've heard or seen a car all day. Can't complain about that, and probably couldn't ever live in a town again! Peace and quiet is a hard thing to give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.