Merlin

All a hazy distant memory now. Up at 4:30 and off to Southampton to meet up with the surveyor. It’s a cracking boat in every respect bar one. Unfortunately that one thing happens to be the hull. It’s riddled with osmosis and sends the surveyor’s needle into the red zone. It’s liveable with, but you’d certainly want a big discount if you were taking it on. So no, I won’t be. Was the owner genuinely unaware or was he hoping that his hastily applied anti-fouling would cover it up? Or has my surveyor got osmosis paranoia? I don’t think it was the latter as we’d a good lengthy talk about it and he demonstrated the problem to me pretty clearly.
Ach well, I looked round the boats and headed into Southampton. For by a remarkable coincidence, although I was missing the only showing of Zama in Edinburgh, it was being screened at the Picture House at Ocean Village. Yowza!
Admittedly I struggled to stay fully alert in the opening period, what with that early start, but once it got going, what a cracker. Wonderfully surreal and nightmarish. Civilisation stripped away. The horror, the horror.
Bloody osmosis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.