Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Magic carpet

Birdsfoot trefoil, Lotus corniculatus

Today I went out hunting flowers for both WildflowerWeek and BikerBear's wonderful FlowerFriday.  I didn't, though, expect to come across such a rich carpet of birdsfoot trefoil or anything else.  Despite what I'm trying to blip this summer, there is no doubt that both butterflies and wildflowers round here were badly hit by the late snow in March.  I actually met a lovely bee lady (with a hat and a net, how wonderfully Victorian) who was telling me she felt the same, so presumably bumbles and solitary bees have been affected too.

This flower was one of the first whose name I learned.  My dad called it 'bacon and eggs' so as kids we did too.  Did you call it that?

One way or another, it's been a pretty exhausting day, so that's enough stuff here.  Have a happy evening and a fab weekend  xx

A list of my blipped 2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze);  Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot;  Primroses;  Blackthorn
APRIL
Greater periwinkle;  Goat willow;  Ground ivy;  Cowslips;  Daisy;
Common field speedwell;  Wood anemone;  Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock);  Yellow archangel;  Common dog violet;
Crab apple;  Bluebell;  Red clover;  Germander speedwell;
Three-cornered leek;  Hawthorn;  Yellow flag; Dandelion;  Common vetch; Dog rose;  Green alkanet;
JUNE
Bramble;  Stinking iris;  Dropwort;  Meadow buttercup; Sweet briar;  Red campion;  Butterfly orchid;  Poppies; Nettle;  Birdsfoot trefoil

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.