Now What do I Do?

I had just seen the mother Downy Woodpecker feeding this baby so I went to get my camera. I settled in a chair on the deck and this youngster flew in to the suet holder with Mom right behind him but when she saw me she turned around and left poor junior alone to fend for himself; he was clueless and just put his head and touched the suet with his beak without even getting a bite. Eventually he heard Mom calling him and off he flew  :-))  Later we saw Mom and him back at the feeder and he was happily being feed. Very cute!! But I had company so I couldn't simply spend the time necessary to get that shot.

I had a wonderful visit with my cousin last night and this morning. At times it felt like we were those teenage cousins together again.....very fun laughter. She was two years older than me so she was the one who got me into a bit of trouble I wouldn't have thought of on my own. :-/  She went on to have quite a colorful life and for years we lost touch; now life is good for her since she has been clean and sober for quite a few year. Life is good.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.