My take

By ianpiper

Out of town

When I was a small boy we lived in Portsmouth - a depressing, grey bomb-site of a city where the only green space was at my school playing fields. At the time there was a programme on Southern Television called "Out of Town". I watched it every week to get a dose of countryside in the absence of the real thing. Of course, it was in black and white then, but I had a good imagination.
Today, walking Meg, the theme song from that programme came into my head:

Up there the sun is a big yellow duster
Polishing the blue, blue sky
With white fluffy clouds in a cluster
Hanging on a breeze to dry

Seemed appropriate somehow. It's not the Lake District (I wish), but it is nice to live somewhere where I can walk to green space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.