A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Who could resist ...

..such a look! Well I'd already thrown all my duck and swan food into the pond so I'm afraid he didn't get any more.

Lovely to be,back on the Thursday morning St Ives circuit today and catch up with all the ladies. As we reached Coppice Pond we were surprised to see a family of Canada Geese. I'm amazed as the male swan has attacked the geese at every opportunity so this pair have done really well to produce 3 young.

I don't think I've ever seen so many young on the pond. All 8 cygnets looking very 'ugly duckling'. The first 6 clutch of ducklings still in tact and getting quite big - big enough to set about the smaller ones of which there were 3 or 4. There were two sets, one of 6 and one of about three of what we think might have been Tufted ducklings. On the info board it says Tufted ducks frequent the pond but don't breed there so who knows.

Last year there was nothing apart from the 6 cygnets and only 2 of them survived. What a bumper year!
Fabulous to watch them this morning but Mr Mallard got my blip vote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.