Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Summer Exhibition at RA

Another unbearably hot day today, it’s meant to be the hottest day of the year so far. It was already 32C by the time I left home at lunch time - it peaked at 36C today. When I stepped into the train I wondered if I would last the 35 minute journey into London, it was sweltering hot in there, I reckon at least 40C - the train having heated up throughout the day with absolutely no ventilation or air conditioning. When we pulled into Waterloo Station I actually had sweat running down my face - disgusting I know, and  I am a person who never sweats after a run or gym session so for me to be sweating like that it shows just how hot it was!

I met my friend at the Royal Academy which thankfully had blissful air conditioning. The Summer Exhibition is usually a mixed bag of good talent and, in my humble opinion, utter rubbish. This year it has been curated by Grayson Perry who always seems to bring a sense of humour to his art, and that is clearly reflected throughout  this exhibition. I found myself smiling at so much of the art, it was quite delightful - although some pieces were downright pointless. One piece of art was essentially a twig, it had sold for about £400! It was the perfect way to spend a hot day inside the cool rooms and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Afterwards I met Gavin and Luke for a drink, as they had finished work - we spoilt ourselves with cocktails - and then we met Thomas who had returned from Manchester by train, and had a quick supper before getting home quite late. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.