William Morris

We had a fab day yesterday in Lloyd’s Park Walthamstow E17.
William Morris used to live here and the park was made out of his garden
There are some fabulous trees in this park.
It is where I was taken to feed the ducks and swans as a child. I took all of my children there to feed ducks/swans there was also an Aviary full of Budgies Finches and Cockatiels. In the front was a large round Goldfish pond with a glorious fountain. These have both gone and replaced with flower beds full of African Marigolds.
I think I can understand why they did this. Sad to say I took one of my grandchildren there and the pond was ruined by lazy people who had thrown beer cans crisp packets and other rubbish. Sad
But my day was lovely friends and family met up we all brought picnics the day was cooler but still sunny. And I found out that what I thought was a pond was actually a real moat built round William Morris’s house that I am told looked like a castle in the middle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.