Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

The Conductor

I went to the Patuxent Wildlife Refuge this morning.  It is located mid-way between Baltimore, MD and Washington, DC and fortunately there was no traffic and the trip was actually quite nice.  When I arrived at the park, there were a ton of hummingbirds just waiting to be photographed.  

Five people showed up shortly after I did and we set up shop around the feeders, chatted, and had a blast watching these little beauties.  

This Ruby Red Throated Hummingbird was quite the troublemaker. He didn't want to share the feeder with his mates and kept chasing them off.  He kept this up for about 10 minutes and then finally gave up the fight.  

I spent almost three hours taking photos and rattled off 385 shots (a lot for me). It took forever to sort through and find the keepers (about 20) and then another long while to figure out which one to blip.  So today's extra photos for my second runner up.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.