Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Venice - day 2

What a scorcher today - 33C and so humid. Note to self - never visit Venice in August ever again, it is a horrendous time of year to be mingling with the crowds in this heat. We started the day with a short run - short as it was already hot at 7.30am. This was followed by an enormous breakfast at the hotel - I stuck to my oats with berries and nuts but the boys....eggs, steak, porridge...and 2 hours later were asking when were we eating lunch.

We decided to visit Burano today - it was so horribly hot on the vaparetto (water bus) out there, and the journey was about 45 minutes long where we stood all the way as it was so crowded and there were no seats. We tried to edge towards the rail to get a bit of a breeze, it was truly unpleasant. Burano is so pretty with the coloured houses but everyone was so hot and sticky we only stayed there for about an hour before getting the vaparetto back to the main part of Venice. I have added some extras of the very picturesque houses.

Back in Venice we found a shady little restaurant for some lunch, and then I took the boys to see the famous Liberia Aqua Alta, the book store which has a gondola in it and is just a higgledy piggledy mess of books everywhere! I also managed to find the little house that stands by itself in the water (it was once a brothel and you can guess what came up when I tried to google it to find it's location). 

Then we got the vaparetto to Salute, as I wanted to recreate a photo I took on the family's previous visit to Venice which was about 12 years ago. In that photo, Thomas was about 5 years old and was so tired, hot and irritable that he is so grumpy in the photo and was pulling such a funny face - it's one of my favourites as he looks so funny. This time the boys had the maturity to try and look relaxed when in fact everyone was hot and tired and just wanted to get back to the hotel for a swim! (see extra for the recreation)

Tomorrow we board the boat for the start of our cruise!

(Please forgive my lack of comments on journals, I will try to give stars and hearts when I get a chance)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.