Dad's 90th Birthday party

Dad's 90th Birthday party today - finally!

The day went really well. Dad was very cheerful (he was rather gloomy and probably anxious yesterday, so I was so relieved) and his stamina was amazing.  We had a great gathering of all the family and his close friends; my only regret is that I took very few photos and (particularly) that I didn't get a family group together.  Ah well, hindsight is a wonderful thing ...

Although the weather was overcast mainly, and not especially warm, people did eventually gravitate outside (why do we congregate in kitchens?!!) and enjoyed the fresh air and token singleton wasp.  The small people found a great route for doing circuits through the house and garden accompanied by much noise (I loved it - think I should've joined them!!) and having the house full of special people was wonderful.  Four generation family get togethers are infrequent for obvious reasons and are something to treasure.  Seeing our 'kids' blossom as good adults and parents is also rather amazing.

I think we're all a bit partied out now! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.