2008

These cacti are going crazy.

(At this point I confess that I had to - once again - look up cacti / cactuses and why the -i ending is so odd in plurals. And this is what I found: "Cactus plural: Cacti is a noun. It is the plural form of cactus, which refers to members of a family of spiny plants. Cactus plural: Cactuses is an alternative spelling of the same plural noun. According to Bryan Garner (2016), both are accepted variants. Cactuses is more common in speech and ordinary usage, while cacti is favored in print sources and scientific uses. Cactus is originally a Greek word, and it came to English through Latin. The -i for -us plural is common in Latin, and since the scientific names of plants are usually related to Latin, it’s not surprising that cacti became widespread in English. Summary: Cacti and cactuses are alternative forms of a plural noun that means more than one member of a family of spiny plants. Both forms are correct, but cacti is more common in published writing.")

Anyway these are the ones found in the campo. Someone had thrown them away. It's funny how they have these leafy soft leaves and then I guess those will turn into a spiky cacti or...? I'm not sure. I guess I'll find out.

This morning was the first morning that I was really freezing when taking out the dogs. It might have been around 20°C at the campo and there was a slight breeze making it cooler. Days are still hot. But humidity is down to under 70% which makes it so much better. I need to moisture my face again in the mornings :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.