Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Poppy

Playing catch-up again - not enough hours in the day!

Our Church, along with Cumbernauld Village Community Council, is hoping to mark the 100th Anniversary of the end of the First World War in November with a display of knitted poppies. I believe there are quite a few similar events planned throughout the UK.

We've been encouraging people to knit or crochet poppies for several months now and have instruction sheets available for a host of different designs. We've already had a substantial number of completed poppies handed in - and there are still a couple of months to go. I'm looking forward to seeing the final results.

I've heard that we've also received National Lottery funding for a more permanent display in the vicinity of the local war memorial, but don't know the details of what's been planned. Something else to anticipate!

The weather on Sunday was pretty awful, so it wasn't a day for going out walking. My photo of the poppy collection at church was taken as a standby, just in case, and the way the day turned out I'm glad that I had something in the 'bank'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.