Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Nice and Monaco

This morning I was up early to see the sunrise over the sea, the last one I would see for some time (see extra). We sailed into Monaco at about 8am and we had to disembark by 9.30am as this was the final stop of our cruise. We wanted a lingering breakfast as today is my birthday, but it was a bit of a rush to get the cabin cleared and off the boat. I have added an extra photo of the view of Monaco from the boat - Monaco, what a place - as the saying goes, a sunny place for shady people.The super yachts in the marina make one's eyes boggle, there is a lot of money bobbing around in that harbour!

We got a taxi to our hotel in Monaco, dropped our bags and then got a taxi to Nice. This is an image of the famous Negresco Hotel situated on the Promenade des Anglais, built in 1912 during the Belle Epoque era. We wandered around the lanes and eventually found a spot for lunch. We have been to Nice before but I don't think we have explored the old part of town, which we did today - winding alleyways and coloured buildings, all very charming and picturesque.

We got an Uber back to Monaco and the boys relaxed at the hotel pool while Gavin and I went for a walk to see all the boats in the marina - not only were the enormous boats mind boggling, but there were also many Rolls Royce cars parked outside the boats for the occupants use. 

I got a lovely birthday surprise today - last night was the awards ceremony for the wildlife competition I entered. There were 25 images that made the short list, one of which was one of mine, and today I heard that I have won £250 as my image came joint second - I was very pleased with that!

Tonight we are having a dinner to celebrate my birthday, and we fly home again tomorrow. Back home to reality - much cooler weather, back to school for Thomas, and another knee operation for Luke. The holiday will definitely be over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.