Tilly turned up today

She's  been missing and I've been worried that a feral cat we saw two weeks ago might have gotten her. It's been so hot that the chipmunks have stayed in their burrows deep below in the cool earth. But, suddenly while I was sitting out on the patio watching for hummingbirds, she arrived, gobbling peanuts and packing them in as fast as she could. She made three runs from her burrow and back, then must have decided it was best to stay under. T and I continued to move about in chairs finding shade, but the heat was finally just too much. It's close to 100f in the 'feels like' category and just awful. 

The hummers are up against thirsty bees crowding all the feeders and their own territorial issues. Not much feeding has gone on today. I've left a plate of nectar for the buzzers, but they are still crowding the feeders.

I've done nothing today after cooking omelettes for breakfast but begin the 7th in the Simon Serrailler Mysteries by Susan Hill, recommended by walkingmarj. One more to go, then, The Sixteen Trees of the Somme, recommended by DDW. I absolutely hate the heat, but love being outside. I'm in now trying to recover from sitting in an oven for some hours.

For the Record, 
This day came in hot and humid.

All hands sick of the heat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.