She left me on Friday...

By DiscoDown

A day of two halves

I didn't get out of bed in my usual weekend frame of mind, so I couldn't really be arsed walking Betty as early as I should have. So breakfast was had first, which only made me less arsed to go out for a walk.

Jason was keen to take Betty out, though, so we got ready and went out to brave the freezing winds. It was late morning by the time we got out so i decided to keep the walk fairly short. We didn't quite do my usual route as I wasn't sure how Jason would fancy it, but he seemed to enjoy it so I'll maybe do the proper route with him next time. We got home and Jason asked his mum for hot cocoa, which was a bit of a surprise as he has never wanted it or tried it before. The shot on the left is of him doing his, "mmmm, this is tasty" routine - right before he declared that he didn't like it.

We decided to get out the house in the afternoon and took a trip into Edinburgh for a look around the shops. I had the fantastic idea of taking the train, which Marc loved, and it dumped us at Haymarket because of a broken down train at Waverley (I don't understand that one either). We were told to wait at our platform for the next train, which would be going into Waverley, and we all stood there and watched as a train came and went from a different platform before we got the inevitable "oops, sorry" announcement. So we walked to the end of the platform with our kids and our buggy and decided to walk to the east end. No lifts and a narrow set of stairs. Super.

At least the shopping and the journey back weren't as difficult, and the walk from Haymarket justified another coffee.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.