FIDDLERS GREEN

Had a mini blipmeet today with Pat ( Shygirl73 ) Last time I saw her I mentioned wanting to see the fisherman statue and the newly renovated Spanish City down on the coast so Pat suggested we meet up and go together.  So today was the day.

We met at Tynemouth Metro station and walked down to where the statue is - near North Shields Fish Quay..  Before taking our photos we popped into a cafe in The Old Low Light building for coffee.  The coffee was delicious.  It was so nice that I bought a pack to take home.  The blend was called Haddaway Harry - a specially roasted blend commissioned by The Old Low Light to pay tribute to one of the North Easts greatest sportsmen Harry Clasper - a famous oarsman.

The Fiddlers Green statue is a 10ft 6ins memorial created by sculptor Ray Lonsdale to honour fishermen who were killed doing their job after leaving the port. In 19th Century maritime folklore Fiddler’s Green was a kind of afterlife for sailors and was a place where there was never-ending merriment. The plaque on the statue reads:~

"To the fishermen lost in the cold North Sea, and the ones who will be so, I’ll be seeing you all on Fiddler’s Green, be steady as you go.
For Fiddler’s Green is a place I’ve heard tell, though no one really knows, where the fishermen go if they don’t go to hell, and no Arctic wind will blow.”

After taking our photos we got the metro to Whitley Bay where we looked around  The Spanish City.  I would have added an extra of the building but the only photos I took there are on my phone not my camera. We found a nice little cafe near the Spanish City to stop off for another drink. 

Then Pat went to catch her bus home while I mooched around Whitley Bay and did some shopping. At 4pm I caught the metro back to Newcastle.

I had a lovely time at the coast and enjoyed spending time with Pat.  The weather was fine - but rather windy at times.

Steps today - 17,032

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.