wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

MCCXCIX

I spent today at the Norfolk Records Office with a group of fellow students, starting a desk-based historical evaluation for one of our classes - we have to write 3000 words on a place (parish, house etc) using whatever sources we can find on it. So we spent the day fossicking through the archives (or letting the archivists do that bit, then exclaiming at each result that appeared), finding out about various locations. I'm looking at the parish of Little Snoring, in north Norfolk, chosen purely for the name. There are a lot of records for it as well. Including this beauty. I don't entirely know what it is yet - it was listed as 'Property in Little Snoring' on the database, but my Latin wasn't up to reading it without a lot of sighing, umming, ahhing and supportive cups of tea. So I photographed it and will work on it this week. I probably shouldn't actually be posting it - our photo licence probably doesn't really cover this, but it was the most exciting thing ever and I will risk the wrath because I just have to share it's amazing coolness. That said, if any archivists do happen upon this and would like it taken down, please just let me know.

The exciting thing about this is that it was written in 1299. I couldn't believe it was just handed over to me, no ceremony, no warnings, no gloves even! It's on vellum (old animal skin parchment), which is more durable than paper, and has survived 700 years in incredible condition, but still! Of course I promptly dropped it as soon as it was handed over... The wax seal, which you can just see the edge of, still has a thumbprint of whoever sealed it up when it was first written.

SO COOL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.