The Whys Man

By WhysMan2

A Paper Boat Garland from Gourock

We're handing the blip over to P6, Gourock Primary School today from where Vicky, one of the pupils, reports about her gorgeous paper boat garland...

"Since the day our class started the Whysman project and learned how to make paper boats I have been dedicated to making them!

First I made a boat with coloured A4 paper and then I thought I would make some tiny ones . The smallest one I have made is the size of a thumbnail! This was very difficult and failing at my first attempt I tried again and again until I succeeded. When I did, I ran and shouted to everyone around me waving the miniature boat madly with happiness. This was the start of my paper boats.

The reason for making my garland of Fruitella wrapper boats is much simple and random. It was when I was standing in the noisy school playground lining up after the "end of break" bell, I unexpectedly found a single sweet wrapper in my coat pocket. Looking around and not seeing any teachers, I quickly transformed it into a paper boat. Great though I thought it looked, it was a bit dull and lonely on its own!

From that day onwards I started collecting Fruitella wrappers from all my friends and lined them up in a row in my bedroom... I even bought three packets of Fruitella myself.

As I gathered and folded more and more boats I thought I would string them together since I had 51 boats altogether. I rumbled through my cupboard and found a piece of string thin enough to go through each boat. I tied a knot at the end and started poking holes through the middle of my boats with my mum's sewing needle.

When I brought the sweetie paper boat garland to school to show Mrs McKay she looked shocked, and when she told me that I was going to be going to the exhibition, I was shocked too!

I beamed with joy and am now looking forward to going to the Mitchell Library to see the exhibition.


Vicky S. (P6)

What can we say! Vicky, your paper boat garland is gorgeous and there's a warm welcome waiting for you at the exhibition.

Bring it with you and we'll put it on display too. Really well done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.