The Autumn Equinox

The Autumn Equinox marks the first day of astronomical autumn in the northern hemisphere and the start of spring in the south. In the UK the equinox started  just before 3am this morning.  To mark the occasion I took photos of my three Green Men.  The Green Man is traditionally seen as a celebration of nature, fertility and the cycle of life. Also in my collage you can see the wonderful sunset we had at  7pm this evening.

I woke up early this morning feeling full of cold and my throat was sore.  So I took a couple of paracetamol, sucked a Strepsil  - and went back to bed for a few hours.  When I finally surfaced I didn't have the energy to do much.  I watched TV for a while and then I put some of my Summer clothes into storage and replaced them in the wardrobe with some Winter ones.  Its feeling decidedly chilly at the moment.

Becky and Mike on the other hand are enjoying very HOT weather.  They travelled to Badwater Basin in Death Valley National Park.  Its the lowest point in North America - 282 feet below sea level.  Of course they just had to do a one mile run. Then they walked across the Mesquite Sand Dunes. There is a notice there advising travellers not to walk there after 10am due to the extreme temperature. The temp there at the moment is 110F. ( 43.3C )  Death Valley is officially the hottest place on earth. Then they arrived in Las Vegas where they are staying in the Venetian Hotel.   I'm so jealous as I love Las Vegas. 



Steps today - 4,950

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.