It may be old, but it should be used

Today I did the presentation at the Grand Round. I finished preparing for it late yesterday. Mainly because I didn't start properly until Friday. As my title, I used the reply of a very unwell woman with bipolar mania to my question about lithium when I first met her. She accepted the lithium when we offered it and refused the other medication until the fifth attempt. Her treatment was the clinical story around which I hung the results of a small research study we did some years ago, and a review of the literature. (When she was well, I had asked her permission to use her treatment as a teaching tool, and gained her consent.)

My title for the blip is my response, because in almost 70 years nothing else has ever come close to lithium as treatment of this devastating (if untreated) illness.

Yesterday I hoped to be able to say I enjoyed today. I did as the questions were thoughtful and the discussion positive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.