A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Edafest Day 27

Red Letter Day!

Another glorious Indian Summer day. I spotted three balloons coming over the houses from my bedroom window this morning. Ran down to tell Grace who was givImg Eda her breakfast and we went out to watch them fly over the house.
The roof line of the houses behind prevented us from seeing all three from ground level. The first one was grey and a bit nondescript, it seemed to be promoting bath, but the second came right over us as you can see. They were waving at us and we them. It seems auspicious as it was Thursday last year when Eda was born. I stood on a freezing Leeds station waiting for news and arrived here to glorious weather and Eda's arrival. I know her birthday is tomorrow but I liked seeing this balloon this morning. The third one was a Virgin.
She was also spending her first solo spell at nursery. Just two hours but she loved it. Grace had to stay but not with her or she would have had to pay. It probably helped that they started with crumpets and slices of apple! We've been giving her Weetabix the last two mornings as that's what they have for breakfast. She loves it. The nursery is housed in a converted church and the babies are up on the third floor. It is lovely and light.
I took the opportunity to get some things from Scoopaway at the bottom of Gloucester Rd. to take home. Yes next week I will be home! Don't think I've ever been in such a packed bus - pensioner time I suppose.
I also visited a few shops I haven't been in with Eda. Resisted a top bought got one or two other bits and pieces. I also went into Bakers for coffee. An old favourite but far too narrow for prams though I think we have been in with Eda at some point.

I met them as they came out from nursery and after lunch Grace got down to cake making. When Eda woke from her afternoon nap (no morning nap for two days now) we went into the garden again as it was so hot. She spent most of her time putting the stacking rings on the peg. She just kept putting them on and taking them off with great concentration - though not in the right order yet. Another first.

Tomorrow is the big day - the real Red Letter day and Grumpa has now arrived to help celebrate. He's pretty tired as he's done luncheon club today.
Grace has still one more cake to make as she has made a small one for the family and is sandwiching two big ones together for the friend's party on Sunday.
She has an NCT friend who has loaned her a tin for the big one and given her the recipe. She makes them professionally and recommends a Madeira cake. They look great. I've just been the sous chef.
We'll have to wait and see about the decoration!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.