Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Impressionism

I can't help feeling
that Impressionist painters
first captured bokeh.

I was out before sunrise this morning, for a delicious fresh air walk. Very near my neighbourhood, there are many private houses (as opposed to buildings of apartments) with lovely gardens. Just as the sun filtered through the trees and bushes, I saw the glorious lighting and was able to capture several photos. I liked this one best.

Bokeh word origin:
"The term comes from the Japanese word boke (暈け or ボケ), which means "blur" or "haze", or boke-aji (ボケ味), the "blur quality".  The term bokashi (暈かし) is related, meaning intentional blurring or gradation."


With thanks to Wikipedia for explaining this with the artistic Japanese script.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.