passremarkable

By passremarkable

Untitled #1 (read on for explanation)

Saturday started with a chilly early cycle with sis over to the inaugural Coldham's Lane Park Run. By the time we started the sun was out so layers were shed and strewn on adjacent tree branches to be collected upon finishing - I was hopeful that we would indeed finish ;) I haven't run anywhere in over a decade, my knees preferring other types of exercise, but somehow found myself on the starting line preparing to try to keep up with my sis who has been diligently training for a 10k next week. Thankfully I made it round in a respectable 30 minutes and, despite sis saying that I had reminded her of Scrappy-Doo panting along behind her at the end, it was a relatively enjoyable experience, until later that is, when I was hobbling like Long John Silver (with accompanying soundtrack oo-aar). Pure comedy.
After the run it was brunch and a trip to Kettle's Yard to see the third of four quick-fire exhibitions, each lasting only a week. It was the turn of Broomberg & Chanarin, a collaboration who presented 'Bandage the knife not the wound' (see pic). In short, one would print a photographic image (already produced during their collaborative career) onto a flattened cardboard box and the other would then overprint with another image from their own harddrive. The result was striking, and the cardboard boxes (extra points for recycling) provided a novel twist providing shape, shadow and texture. All the works were untitled and the observer was asked to draw his/her own conclusions about the relationships between the images. Some might call it lazy art - images already existing on harddrives, no communication between the artists, no titles, draw your own conclusions, but it made for interesting visuals. 
Cake, work, pizza and Strictly were the joining dots in the rest of my day. Heading to bed thinking ahead to painting the flat white tomorrow and wondering how my aches and pains will be in the morning.
Gotta get up those stairs first ;) Wish me luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.