The Limelight at last for a Lily

Every day for the last week I have blipped this lily just in case I find nothing else worthy of my blip attention throughout the day, and every day it never makes the cut. Today however, here it is in all its glory.

There is a tale to tell about its presence in the Dower House. About a fortnight ago, to reduce the banana mountain accruing in the fruit bowl, I baked two banana loaves and gave one to our new neighbours. Because they weren’t in, I left it at their door. I was mightily embarrassed when the wife appeared at my door three days later with an enormous bouquet of lilies for His Lordship and me. I certainly didn’t expect that and will have to consider my next option. I think I will have to say the lilies are beautiful and a wonderful addition to our window sill, but please, it was only a banana cake I gave you. I don’t need a bouquet every time I give you some questionable baking.

Never for a long time have I spent such a sociable day. I had a morning in John Lewis with my friend from Kelso, a long chat in the afternoon on the phone to Poppy in Orkney and an even longer phone call from my original friend of many talents in Ireland. Too much excitement in one day - I won’t sleep tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.