Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

To Migrate (or not to Migrate)

Saw several hundred geese in this field this morning. I assumed they were stocking up on food prior to their winter migration.
As I was preparing my blip, I thought I would just check; I might be able to provide a bit more information about where they migrate to from the UK.  I was surprised to read that the majority of geese do not migrate!  It seems that the Canada Goose (or Colonial Goose as it was previously known) was introduced into the UK in the 17th Century by Charles II to ornament his London garden.  Gradually many other stately homes brought in colonies for a similar purpose (well if it was good enough for the king!).  After a while some escaped and became feral.  So rather than them migrating they just hang around all year around.

I know we have experts on geese amongst the members of Blipfoto, so I hope my research is accurate.  I'm sure I will find out if not.  That's the problem of using the internet, you need lots of corroborating evidence to make sure it isn't 'fake news'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.