Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

No Smoking in Simonds

Simonds cafe in Zamakek is a bit of an institution in Cairo with good old-fashioned service and staff who look like they were born on the premises. I've been a few times, but the smoky atmosphere has put me off having coffee there more often. I was stopped in my tracks as we walked past it this afternoon when I saw the 'no smoking' sign! I'm sure this will mean their losing quite a few of their regular customers, but hopefully they'll gain a few new ones, like me.

Bb and I both worked on our laptops in the flat in the morning and until late afternoon,when we took a taxi to Zamalek for a wander, some Korean food and a little food shopping so I can take lunch into school. Day 1 tomorrow? Fingers crossed for nice trainees.

The unexpected excitement of the day came when we tried out the brand spanking new washing machine, which was delivered just a week ago. It flooded the kitchen floor after 10 mins of the 30' cycle! Water was coming up through the drain in the floor! We managed to stop it, get the door open, wring out our sodden clothes and it's been reported to the school. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.