Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Durham - a river walk

It was a clear morning so we decided to go for a walk along the river before breakfast. It was freezing cold with a mist lingering above the water, but again, such beautiful reflections in that calm water. I am a sucker for reflections and I could spend days photographing the reflections along that river! I have added an extra of the view of the cathedral from our walk - sadly it is covered in scaffolding which looks like a big bandage wrapped around it! 

Luke and Meriel joined us for breakfast, and then after breakfast Gavin had some emails and work matters to attend to so I sat editing some photos. Luke went to do some work while Meriel showed Thomas around her college. As soon as Thomas got back we went for a drive to Seaham, which is the nearest beach to Durham, about 20 minutes away.I have added some extras of the wide beach and views there. 

We got back to Durham in time for Luke to show Thomas around his college, and then we had a light lunch. We said our goodbyes to Luke as he had a lecture to get to and we went for a wander around the cathedral. Then we headed up the hill to the engineering department where Thomas and another boy had a private tour of the department - parents also attended. Thomas was very impressed and it I could see his eyes gleaming at all the equipment to test various laws of physics etc. 

We then headed back home again, an easy 4.5 hour drive with no hold ups. Luckily for me Gavin prefers to do all the driving so I sat reading my book all the way and even managed to finish it - I loved it and can highly recommend it - 'The heart's invisible furies' by John Boyne. It is written in a similar style to the work of John Irving so if you like that kind of thing, you will enjoy this. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.