Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Dalebottom, Naddle Valley, Lake District

Starting the journey home this morning and I decided to drive along the A591.  I'd only just come out of Keswick, cresting over Castlerigg when I saw this scene before me.  I didn't have a lot of time, but luckily found a small pull off near Low Nest Farm.  I knew the light was bound to change in seconds.

I managed to take a few photos, initially taking the advice of getting some images on the card, before going back to get filters.  In the end it was those very first shots that had the best light.  I'd also decided to bracket as it was difficult to assess the exposure and I was unsure that a single shot would capture the dynamic range.

This shot was taken at 9:10 am and the sun had only just risen across the Hellvellyn range, just shows how late the light appears at this time of year (that is until tomorrow when GMT returns and everything happens an hour earlier!).

Back home now after a great three days.  Really happy to get some miles under my belt and also with height and in fantastic conditions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.