misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Fallen Leaves Adventure

Constant rain since yesterday has made most of the leaves to fall from the Silver Maple in the front of my house. So, out I went to blip them. They have totally covered the green grass. A few have artistically placed themselves in the bird's water dish.
I stopped to admire the autumn beauty around me when I realized I was going to have an "adventure."
I had locked myself out of the house. Grrr! Scolded myself roundly!
I then checked under the stone frog but the spare key was not there. I must have forgotten to replace it the last time this happened.
It is a quiet Sunday in the neighbourhood and no one was stirring. I am rather seriously disabled in the walking department. I had not come out with a cane or my digital call button. I walked slowly and carefully across the corner street to a neighbour who I thought might be able to climb through my unlocked bedroom window. I have a chair there nearby. I thought the two college-aged kids were home this weekend. One of them could be flexible enough to climb through the window.
The only real concern for me is not to lose balance and fall before I can find someone to help. I hate lying on my back like a tortoise calling for someone to set me upright.
Well, it all worked out. The college kids were just getting in their car to return to school. Their Mom came out and said she would help me.
We walked to the back and she managed to push the bedroom window open and climb in. She was so pleased with herself to be able to still do that.
I was glad she came over as I have intended to give her a small pot of indigo blue columbine seedlings for her garden before winter set in.
Fair trade.

And, now here I am sending this blip of the golden leaves from the comfort of my warm home.
Memo to self: replace the spare key under the stone frog!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.