A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Poppy Friday

A miserable grey day. On my way to the hairdresser this morning I pass through Queensbury, the highest point in Bradford and it was thick fog. When I arrived in Shelf I noticed all the lampposts had large red poppies on them brightening the way.

As I came out of the hairdresser I took a closer look as some had white stickers on. The date of the Great War and the name of one of the fallen is,shown on the poppy. I think it is great that so many places are making appropriate commemorations. In our village there are some hand painted rocks at the door of the War Memorial. So good the Brownies and other youngsters are involved as in our neighbouring village today where the road was being closed for an hour whilst the village school children carried out an act of rememberance

Had to be this for today's Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.