Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The view from Nobbys

This shot is actually a way I can explain why I didn't make it to the service.  You can see Fort Scratchley on the hill above Nobbys beach and surf house.  You can see the sea was sparkling today but even so, there are not all that many people on the beach. Why you may ask?  Well it is nigh on impossible to find parking at the moment particularly when there is something like a Remembrance day service on.  I couldn't get a park anywhere near the Fort and in fact I parked out of the shot to the right.  I was hoping at least to catch the fly past.  Can you believe there were three.  The first one I was waiting for and for some reason the lens refused to focus.  The second two caught me unawares and I wasn't in the right position.  The hounds had a good swim at Horseshoe beach and we walked up to the lighthouse to give them a drink.  When it is open to the public, they always have a water bowl up there for dogs.  My two were very thirsty as it was quite warm.  The other thing of note is those white roofed buildings (to the middle and the right) which are the stands which have gone up for the motor race in about two weeks.  The road is blocked which makes it extra tricky getting to Nobbys.  Oh and can you see Newie baths and the igloo to the bottom left of Fort Scratchley.  It's not a bad mud map of my regular haunts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.